Introduction

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Pedro Ruela, Jul 7, 2020.

1. Pedro Ruela

Pedro Ruela Copper

Hello everyone,

I am from Portugal, I am relatively new to foundry. Have been melting brass and losing it in a forge . Because my crucibles are made of 100 x 100 mm x 5 mm square tube with a slice of 30mm flatbar welded all around with a lid (I know I need a proper graphite crucible, and a furnace) . It took me 4 painful melts and 3 crucibles to realize that the tube cracks at around 1100° pouring all the brass onto the charcoal. Only the first melt is doable. After that it cracks. Tried aluminum, it melts quicker than water boils. Anyway I believe there are threads to share our learning misfortunes.

2. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome Pedro. Many of us have had our own bad experiences with steel crucibles. I've never heard of anyone having any real success with copper alloys using a steel crucible. Although you can get away with aluminum for awhile, either oxidation from the outside (especially in a charcoal furnace) or the aluminum eating away at it from the inside, they dont last and often end in disappointment at best, or disaster at worst. But for those who have made these mistakes and learned from them, there are many great successes.
    You'll like it here!

Pete

3. Jason

Jason Gold

Welcome Pedro. What are you making?

4. Pedro Ruela

Pedro Ruela Copper

Hi Jason,
    I am trying to cast 2 missing post office mailboxes

Attached Files:

5. Pedro Ruela

Pedro Ruela Copper

I know this is a forge not a furnace, but I had to start somewhere and also it is not a crucible :)

Attached Files:

6. Jason

Jason Gold

Time to build a furnace. That part looks pretty easy from what I can see.

7. Pedro Ruela

Pedro Ruela Copper