Reinforcing a long segmented (weak) core with angle iron.

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Melterskelter, Nov 11, 2022.

1. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I have been casting 26" iron prism-shaped pieces for a couple years now. The cores used to make them are silicate-bound and, because of their large length/cross section ratio plus segmentation by deep indentations are quite weak. To lift them out of the core box without breaking them requires that they be reinforced somehow. Until yesterday I was doing this using mushroom shaped 1" segments of 3/4 diameter steel drilled and tapped on axis and then attaching the core to a 1/8 x 3" flat bar which acted as a "strongback." That system worked pretty well with only a couple failures in maybe 30 to 40 molds. But yesterday one of the mushrooms pulled out and the core fell off the strong back as I was assembling a mold and the furnace was running. Fortunately this happened before the iron had started to melt. So, I just turned off the fuel and headed home to make a new core and make it with an angle-iron reinforcement. There were reasons to believe such a system should be good and a few other reasons to wonder if it might cause expansion problems etc.

I like the idea of using angle as the wedge shape naturally pushes outward as extraction force is applied and sand seems to naturally resist such force better than say a flat bar on end might or a pipe or round bar, though I suspect each would would also work fine. The angle iron seemed most appropriate.

Here are pics of the results---which were good (and the casting was "perfect.")

Here are the molds not long after casting
    2 26's steaming soon after casting..JPG

Here is a top view of the core still in the casting and just out of the sand. Note the two 1/4-20 studs protruding from the sand.
    The core after casting with .75 inch andgle reinforcement..JPG