Sand & Cement

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Skratch, Jan 22, 2022.

1. Skratch

Skratch Silver

Has anyone tried mixing sand and portland cement in a damp mix to try to make a reusable tamped
    mold? I know the mold would have to cure, probably a few days. We used a light cement to sand mixture to form the draw off slope in bin bottoms in grain elevators,
    then top coated with a layer of strong mix cement. The light mix would set very stable.
    Just an idea, I'm new at this and just a hobby to keep me busy.

Thanks, John ,,,,,

2. Cement as far as I know has water bound up in it after curing, you can get steam explosions and flying concrete from the hotter metals spilt on even old concrete floors.

Then you have cracking as the hot expanded metal cools and contracts if the inner core material can't crush as the contaction occurs: in green sand it's not truly a solid and for resin sand the glue lets go from the heat.

Last edited: Jan 22, 2022
    Skratch likes this.
  3. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Gold Banner Member

Sandrammer on youtube did a couple videos where he tested a recipe he found in an old foundry text for cement bonded molding sand.

Seemed to work well for ingot molds. But shapes that would require the sand to have some give to it during solidification shrinkage might end up tearing themselves apart.

I've been reusing a petrobond ingot mold for a while now, but I'm sure that takes a toll on my good sand. So I've been thinking about maybe trying this too when I have more time to experiment.

Good luck!

Jeff

Skratch likes this.
  4. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Hard to see why anything other than hot rolled steel is needed for aluminum but for other, seems like fire clay might stand a good chance for an ingot mold, if you keep it dry and preheat it.

Best,
    Kelly

Skratch likes this.
  5. Skratch

Skratch Silver