Stickies for the various methods.

Discussion in 'Forum suggestions' started by Chazza, Jul 1, 2019.

1. Chazza

Chazza Silver

Hello Everyone,
    I am a greensand moulder and have been most impressed with the burner designs and lost-foam pattern making.

However; as I am new to this casting forum, I am all-at-sea with the how-and-why of the techniques and method, that most of you use.

What about some stickies at the top of each each forum, with an introduction to the most basic information to help people such as myself get an idea of what it is all about? For example I have found the burner thread on common types, immensely helpful.

I realise that 99% of the information I and others seek is already in this site, but finding it can be very time-consuming if every post in every thread has to be read.

So for example; I could write a stickie about simple patterns and using greensand with an oil binder. It could be a go-to page for someone, who has never done sand-moulding, or basic pattern-making before.

I am most impressed with Kelly's lost-foam pattern-making, but I have no idea what sort of foam it is; how it is machined or worked; where to buy it; safety-data; etc.

To be a good stickie, it must stick to the facts, not questions and be moderated by an administrator, so that everyone else's idle thoughts, do not muddy the water.

Make it simple to find and easy to read.

Admin; if you want me to kick-off with a stickie, let me know please,

Cheers Charlie

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member