Total noob,making noob mistakes and asking noob questions..

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by AGELE55, Sep 14, 2020.

1. AGELE55

AGELE55 Copper

Thanks for the add folks. Just started casting within the last year or so. I have learned enough to know that I don't know a anything...
    Casting aluminium now. I've attempted sand casting and lost wax, each with mixed results. Hopefully I can pick up some one on one / personal experience info here. I have read until my eyes bleed and watched YouTube until my brain fried.
    Thanks again for tolerating.

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome to the forum.
    In the end, what is it you would like to cast?

3. Zapins

Zapins Gold

Phase one complete.

There is no spoon, wax on wax off young grasshopper.

Welcome to the nut house. What are you looking to cast?

AGELE55 likes this.
  4. AGELE55

AGELE55 Copper

Thanks y’all.
    For now I have been casting simple things. I made a small wooden airplane, a cross, and various simple shapes as positives and cast them into aluminum using sand. So far the airplane is the only item that turned out half decent, but only after extensive sanding and and buffing. The surface finish was WAY rough. I think my sand mix has been too wet. I’m pretty close to another try with a dryer mix, hopefully today, but I’m leaving tomorrow for a week so may have to wait.
    I have been struggling also with lost wax. My huge issue is slurry. I made my slurry using pottery clay. I’m having a challenge getting it to stick to the wax uniformly. I used a skull shaped ice cube mold to make wax skulls as a test. Out of a dozen tries, I got one half decent sand mold, but when fired, it never changed into a ceramic. It was just burnt looking but would crumble if I squeezed it (I didn’t squeeze). I buried it in sand and poured a tiny skull with excellent small detail around the teeth, but deformities on the smooth areas.