Using Bars to Prevent Dropout

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Melterskelter, Mar 6, 2021.

1. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

Disclaimer: I am relatively new to Petrobond.

I am casting flask sides for another set of aluminum flasks for casting in green sand iron 18" straight edges. The wood flasks are about 28" long and 10.5" wide inside and are constructed from recycled grooved 3/4" plywood . Since I have limited Petrobond, I made wood flasks "as small as possible" not really knowing what "possible" is when using Petro. I think I made them too thin for good function as the flasks are 2" deep for the drag and 2.75 deep for the cope. On packing the flasks I found that the drag wanted to dropout when I tried to reassemble the drag onto the cope. I noted that the sand was not losing its grip on the flask sides but was sagging across the span.

So, I tried installing 1/4" every 6" bars to support the Petro. It worked remarkably well. I had the opportunity to "torture test" the drag when I screwed up the opening of the flask the first time through. Several pretty sharp inverted taps of the drag did not result in dropout and when I finally did abuse the drag enough to cause the sand to fallout, substantial sand was held back by the bars. In summary, It made a big positive difference.

The bars are secured in their holes by friction. I intentionally mis-aligned the holes a bit when I used a hand drill to bore the 1/4" holes. So, the pins were knocked home with a few light taps from a hammer. That is enough to prevent them from falling out when the flask is empty. The bars did not seem to interfere with mold ramming, BTW.

Bars.JPG Bars2.JPG

I'd be interested to hear what strategies others have used in a similar circumstance.

FWIW,
    Denis

Tobho Mott likes this.
  2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member