Buy a house?

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by Zapins, Jul 12, 2020.

1. rocco

rocco Silver

The person that told me those stories worked for what would later be known as TRW, the plant he worked at employed close to 1000 people. Any thing that had an electric motor either needed the motor replaced or needed to be connected to a phase converter, doing that in a timely manner and with as little disruption as possible, was a monumental undertaking. Now imagine that at thousands of companies large and small, continent wide.

Last edited: May 15, 2021
  2. Zapins

Zapins Gold

Yea I can only imagine how much it would have sucked to buy the wrong version of a machine one week and then the very next week find out it is obsolete.

Hey anyone have a recommendation for how to connect 2" PVC pip with a flexible joint using something food safe? I've seen some 2" diameter PVC pipes that are used for ponds and pools that look like they might work but I've never used them before and don't know how they react with PVC cement or if they need barbs? Or maybe there is something else I haven't considered?

I'm linking some 275g totes together to catch rain and don't want them to settle at different rates and rip apart a rigid pipe system.

3. Jason

Jason Gold

I think you were using IBC's. Can you link them at the outlets on the bottom? Once there is 50gallons of water in each of them, I doubt they will walk away from each other. If you use a threaded nut, the bigger issue will be finding a kid skinny enough to stuff down the hole in the top capable of holding the nut on the inside!:D

4. Ferrisbeu

Ferrisbeu Silver

120k? HAHAHAHA that chump change where I live. And Im poor!!!

5. Zapins

Zapins Gold