3d Printed Patterns or Wood?

Discussion in 'Pattern making' started by AndyOverPartsPro, Mar 18, 2024.

1. Hi guys:
    I am an entire newbie trying to get started making some patterns. I have been trying to determine, what exactly is the benefit of 3d printed patterns versus wood patterns? What are all the pros and cons of each?
    Its not like I would be doing any amount of production, so how well they hold up over the years really does not matter as this will probably be a once and done casting. By the way, the cheapest method is the most appealing to me.
    Any tips or advice would be appreciated.

2. HT1

HT1 Gold Banner Member

those are not your 0nly options what are you making

3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Hi Andy,
    If you don't have a 3d printer already as well as an up to date computer to run it, the answer might be right there. Of course it also depends on what your trying to make. Another option is a CNC router, but that can get just as costly if not more-so. Plus then you have to learn how to use the darned things. Patternmakers got along for a long time with neither, but in all seriousness it depends on what you want to make. I have to say, those 3d printers look like witchcraft to me!

Pete

4. Please see the attached picture.
    It is a replacement gearbox part that is obsolete.
    upload_2024-3-18_17-57-12.png
    I have a nearby foundry that will do a sand casting for me, since I don't have the proper tools yet.
    I realize that I could be using aluminum for the pattern, but what are the other options?

Attached Files:

5. I have the computer, but not the printer. I also have a subscription to Fusion 360.

6. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member

One and done would be ideal with lost foam, which can be cut by any number of tools including a coping saw to simple hot wire all the way up to CNC. If you can break your part down into basic rings and triangles with machining allowances that may be the way to go.