Alloying aluminum for casting and machinability

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by David Ashenbrener, Nov 13, 2017.

1. I've poked around the search info on the forum and found nothing specific on the subject:
    I'm new at this but so far my experience with manuals on the subject just point out billet specs with strengths, shrinkages, weaknesses and general information on which alloys are used in various markets and industries.
    The info I'm looking for is:
    If I'm casting aluminum in my hobby shop to make small machinable parts, what suitable salvage material should I be looking to melt down?
    I have access to several "known" alloys from pure 1100, 3003 and 6061. The parts are not subject to stress of any kind but they are small and have to be machined and tapped with small mill bits and taps.
    Thanks. Please let me know if there is a more appropriate place to post...

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

You'll want to avoid those wrought alloys and instead choose scrap castings. Casting alloys have better fluidity and less shrinkage. Automotive parts like wheels and engine castings are the best but will require resizing to manageable size for your crucible. Small engine (lawn mower) parts and old power tools are also a potential source scrap casting alloy but most things that were previously cast would be suitable.

Best,
    Kelly

David Ashenbrener likes this.
  3. master53yoda

master53yoda Silver