Casting failure ... :(

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by YakTriangle, May 7, 2019.

1. YakTriangle

YakTriangle Copper

Hi all,

I'm conscious this is a very noob question and I'm almost embarrassed to ask it but I'm hoping you guys will appreciate I'm still learning this craft and won't take the piss too much! :confused:

I had a little play over the weekend and poured some very simple moulds in brass with varying degrees of success. The patterns were various small trinket type thingies including a couple of key fobs. I had a central sprue which I gated off in a radial fashion to each of the items. I used Mansbond oil sand. Some of the items formed reasonably well but others refused to fill completely.

MVIMG_20190505_175725.jpg

I attempted this one a second time and while it did a little better it was still incomplete. Second time around I gated onto the back of the mould rather than onto the bottom edge so that the molten brass could run into it unimpeded. The pattern itself is approx. 60mm x 20mm x 3mm.

I didn't use a riser because I didn't think it would be necessary for something this small - am I correct in thinking risers become more critical the larger and more complex the piece is? I also didn't use vents but would that alone give rise the failure seen here?

As an aside, I have learnt that molten brass gives off Zinc Oxide fumes which aren't great for the health. My workshop/garage is well ventilated - garage doors wide open plus a side door, so plenty of through draught - but do you reckon I need to take more precautions?

Many thanks in advance.

P.S. - SomaFM is an awesome Internet Radio station ... check it out!! :cool:

2. I'll let somebody else tell you it was not hot enough.

I want to emphasize a respirator is very important when pouring brass outside. Inside it is imperative. When you get the zinc flu it will pass but it is miserable. Drink lots of milk. Lots. It gets the zinc out of your blood stream.