Cracked my A10

Discussion in 'Foundry tools and flasks' started by Al2O3, Oct 14, 2018.

1. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

I clean and inspect my crucibles before each melting session. Today while doing so I discovered I cracked my A10 during yesterday’s session.

IMG_5086.JPG

Too bad because I’ve been using it for two years and had well over 100 melts on it and was still in good shape. It would have been interesting to see how long I could have made it last. I think I broke it by charging it with a cold ingot. Those A356 ingots I have are big, nearly 4"x4" cross section.

500lbs A356.2.jpg

Resized Ingot.JPG

I cut them to shorter lengths in a horizontal band saw and they stand in the crucible ok but the four corners contact round bottom of the A10. With my electric furnace I don’t have a good way to preheat those big chunks of ingot so going forward I'll have to make sure I charge the bottom of the crucible with smaller pieces for the ingot to rest on to prevent it from expanding against the bottom basin or cut them up into smaller pieces.

Bummer. Casualty of war! Already have another one on the way.

Best,
    Kelly

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Whose crucible was it??

3. Al2O3

Morgan Salamander Super. Clay Graphite.

Best,
    Kelly

Rtsquirrel likes this.
  4. Rtsquirrel

Rtsquirrel Silver

Jetstools?
    They're quick shippers.

Sorry for your loss. Interesting looking crack though.

5. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Maybe you could cut your ingots at an angle so only 2 corners touch the bottom.

Pete

6. Al2O3

No, FavoritesUSA, another eBay seller but I know both they and Jetstools are Morgan dealers. -Lot's of counterfeits on eBay.

That's a possibility. Maybe place a smaller piece or bed of smaller pieces in the bottom for the big chunk to rest on. Some preheating couldn't hurt either.

I took a closer look at the crucible. -Lot's of cracks. No wonder it was ringing any more.

2.JPG 3.JPG