Guidance on refractory, crucible size and ceramic tidiness

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Monkmartinez, Aug 22, 2021.

1. Monkmartinez

Monkmartinez Copper

Hello all!

I have a CastMaster GG-5000 that I picked up from a local Craig’s list ad. I am very new to the hobby and come to ask humbly for some guidance.

First lets get to the pictures so we can discuss properly!

Refractory:
    63067A6D-C10E-4D14-B2EA-B4152DF85254.jpeg 360E526B-078F-4576-8B3B-4CCD54920528.jpeg
    I would like to add some refractory before I do my first burn. Satanite seems like the most recommended option as I have been reading through the forum. Do you all think going with a DIY slurry of Satanite is the best bet here?
    4DF5E7D2-CD2E-4CBF-9A18-4F8BFF174F60.jpeg 9649AB53-03EA-4E62-AC9A-B4C9764F64B3.jpeg 74066B23-8C08-4AAA-A88B-4007609CA6F2.jpeg A43A9CF0-AC26-4219-B582-37613988A8BE.jpeg

I am concerned that the crucible that was shipped with the unit is too big. Especially considering that I would like to add refractory to the furnace. I have taken some measurements, but I remain unsure as to the numbering system of the crucibles. I think it is a #5 and I would probably do ok with a #4 or #3…???

E16F60DD-0731-43DC-9ECB-A9CB04C03C7C.jpeg 48F9CA25-F83B-48CE-ADF6-7AB6B3C23CCC.jpeg 54E97AA0-4F30-4981-927B-9F46380B2885.jpeg

Ceramic wool tidiness… Well as you can see from the back of the furnace, the wool overlaps itself near the hinge. Before I make a cut to form a butt joint, I wanted to get some opinions on whether or not I should. Also, when I shut the furnace lid it seems like the wool is busting out where the lid and body touch.

Should I try to compress the wool and tuck it into place a bit better?

Thank you in advance!

2. Jason

Jason Gold

Satanite. Paint a thin layer, fire it red, cool down and repeat 2-3 times.

I would straighten on that kaowool before you coat it. Wear a mask when screwing with it. Welcome aboard.

3. Petee716