Hello From Boston

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Alexander Madsen, Feb 9, 2020.

1. I have decided to take the plunge and build a furnace in. I have dabbled in machining and woodworking but am new to casting. I will post the furnace section with my plans.

Alex

2. rocco

rocco Silver

Welcome Alex. A lot great guys and good information here. Do you have any particular area of interest or do you just learn about casting in general?

3. Jason

Jason Gold

Alex is a keeper! He didn't call it a foundry!:p:D

Welcome aboard! You found the right place.

4. I am a mechanical engineer with an old victorian house. I would love to cast brass and cast iron hardware for the house. At the moment I am restoring an old murphy bed and it is missing some pieces. I just purchased a 9" South Bend lathe and it needs a belt guard, so that might be a good (if a little big) starter project.

Alex

5. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome Alex. I'm sure you'll find the forum and it's members to be a good resource.

Best,
    Kelly

6. Jason

Jason Gold

Sounds cool Alex. I'm into architectural stuff too. One thing we absolutely require around here is PHOTOS! Lot's of photos!
    There was a guy over at AA that was down in Austin doing old door hardware. Sorry, I don't remember who he was or if he moved over here during the
    photofuket debacle. Having an original is going to be key for what you probably have in mind. If you can pull silicone molds of what you want, you'll be able to get them
    in wax and cast with investment. It depends on what you want to duplicate. The only downside is things tend to shrink a bit at each step.
    Let's see what ya got in mind.

7. OMM

OMM Silver

Welcome aboard Alex. We do like to discuss things. And like any forum we do like pictures!