Hello I am Shawn

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Shawn Lawson, Jul 12, 2020.

1. I am a novice that has been a big fan of casting on youtube. I follow multiple channels for metal working. I would like to build my own foundry out of a 55 gallon steel drum. I am interested in having the ability to cast iron. I am modeling my foundry after one I saw on a youtube channel I follow called SV seeker. So far I have my kaowool, 25 pound bucket of refractory cement and 2 steel drums. I need to get fire bricks and ITC. My plan is to put the kaowool in first and using a rigidizer to make it last longer. Then putting the refractory cement (not sure if there is a difference between refractory mortar like satanite and refractory cement?) to mortar in the firebricks rated at 3000 degrees. After that coating the whole inside with ITC ( a refractory reflective and protective coating). Let me know what you think. Thanks and I am happy to join the community.

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Hey Shawn, welcome to the forum.

I looked at Seeker's furnace but it was long ago so I don't remember the details. Sounds like you are considering a ceramic wool & firebrick furnace. There are several of those in use here by members. Might be a good idea to start a furnace build thread to provide a little more information and feedback. You mentioned iron casting, but what are you looking to cast, how large of a crucible do you want to accommodate, what kind of burner, etc? Those factors can also influence furnace design.

I look forward to your posts and journey to molten metal.

Best,
    Kelly

Shawn Lawson likes this.
  3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome Shawn. I'm looking forward to seeing your progress.

Pete

Shawn Lawson likes this.
  4. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

Welcome Shawn. I hope we can help you get to casting as expeditiously as possible.

Denis

Shawn Lawson likes this.
  5. Tobho Mott