Help! Casting Defect Drove Me to Go Gray!

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Brian Nguyen, Aug 27, 2020.

1. Brian Nguyen

Brian Nguyen Copper

Hey! I recently joined the boards with the hopes in having a problem trouble-shot...I honestly had no help elsewhere and AlloyAvenue seems to be deserted.

My wife recently plucked a gray hair that wasn't there from my head after I took one of my castings from the mold. It was something that I've seen time and time again and that I still haven't been able to fix...

This damned shrinking:

20200823_190648.jpg 20200823_190701.jpg 20200823_190728.jpg 20200823_190810.jpg

Some quick background: I've been teaching myself to do this for the past 2-3 years, I have no background or training in any of this, and much of what I've learned so far is from trial and error and some input from a friend with just a bit more casting experience. The project is replicating the original stunt/special-effects hilts from the original STAR WARS movie, as it was originally made. They were sand cast aluminum and later machined to fit a small enough motor to make the blade effects work.

20200823_190639.jpg

... So these have to be perfect. Every time. Any major defect like I've been having issues with, I can't machine or remedy externally and have to recast the piece.

I've had some successes but my chances are not good. I have a 25-35% success rate and the problems always the same: shrinking/collapsing on the surface, always by the pour gate. I have to get them to look like this before I can do anything with them:

20200823_193535.jpg 20200823_193542.jpg 20200823_193558.jpg 20200823_193648.jpg 20200823_193710.jpg