Hey there all

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Brianf1977, Oct 5, 2019.

1. Brianf1977

Brianf1977 Lead

I'm a machinist at a steel mill in the midwest. New to forging/casting but I've seen quite a few videos and discussions, I'm not sure I'm ready to commit myself to buying and trying just yet but I love seeing all the work people can do. Hopefully one day soon I can find the time to commit and have some fun with it.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

Welcome.
    If you melt and pour metal, chances you will get hooked like many of us here.
    Its an addictive hobby, but oh so much fun, and totally rewarding when things go well.

Edit:
    Casting is a "twofer" hobby, ie: you get to play with fire (if the wife allows it), and you get to make neat stuff.

Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  3. Jason

Jason Gold

Welcome aboard. It is pretty addicting. The possibilities with this stuff is never ending.

4. YakTriangle

YakTriangle Copper

Hi and welcome. I don't get the time to spend melting metal that I would like but I manage to fit it in and around everything else. I've been casting stuff for a couple of years or so and I'm still learning ... I think it's a journey that will never end. :)

And as the guys have already said, it's very rewarding when things work out. :)

5. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome indeed.

What everyone else said: if you try it, you'll probably REALLY like it and want to do it again and again.

You might take that as either encouragement or a warning, but it was meant as encouragement. :D

Jeff

6. Redwolf947

Redwolf947 Copper

Welcome, you sound like me. I want to get started on doing some of this but haven't found the time or money for it. Good luck..

Brianf1977 likes this.
  7. joe yard

joe yard Silver

I send this welcome to you and all the new guys. I do not post a lot so I do not get a chance to welcome everyone individually as I would like.