Hi all. I'm noobtastic

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by curtis73, Oct 11, 2020.

1. curtis73

curtis73 Lead

Name's Curtis. I've been casting things now for zero years, unless you count that one time I melted an aluminum can with a weed-killing torch in a piece of black pipe and proceeded to catch a pine tree on fire. Good times.

Total noob. Over the last couple years, casting at home has been an interest of mine. I tend to go to extremes on learning things like this. Any time I decide on something I want to do; remodel a house, customize a classic car, fly a plane - I go deep into it.

My catalyst for finally diving in and starting my voyage in casting things was a very small home remodeling project (installing some hardwood floors) that I successfully turned into a year-long, covid-induced, gutting the house to it's bones, jacking up the house to repair the foundation, and (heck, while I'm at it) adding a fireplace. In this process I harvested two Norway Maples that were dying in order to have the mill make me some really unique hardwood floors, and also had them process a Walnut for the mantle and cabinets to flank the fireplace.

It's just how I roll. I don't do shine-ola.

Long story short, the decor for this last room is primarily English Gentlemen's club/Victorian. The walls on either side of the chase/fireplace will be veneered with sheet copper that I will run through a bead roller and likely patina with vinegar and/or ammonia. I could do a slate hearth for the fireplace, I have decided to instead cast some copper tile that I can patina... thereby turning a 1 day project into an excuse to completely learn a new craft and make the project last infinitely longer than it should. It's the last piece of the fireplace, it's front and center, and why not be able to say I cast it myself from plumbing scraps and that big trash can full of leftover romex and cat5e the neighbor has because he's a xenophobic hoarder?