Hi everybody

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by CLR, Mar 28, 2019.

1. CLR

CLR Copper

My membership has just been approved. I googled and stumbled on your thread about Puhakka and bifilm theory so I thought I could join. I have no backyard foundry experience, only worked in regular industrial foundries => but I plan to start home pouring from time to time just for fun :)
    I have theoretical knowledge and metal casting simulation experience.

Looking forward to future discussions.

2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

Welcome CLR.

I had never heard of Bob Puhakka or the bifilm theory until someone posted a link to one of his videos a month or so ago.
    At first I thought it was a bunch of snake oil, and then I found out about John Campbell and his 10 rules for good castings, and found out that Bob basically took John's 10 rules and built a very nice commercial foundry that makes great castings.

I bought John Campbell's book, and have been reading it (on and off), and I must say I have a much better understanding of the metal casting process than I did since I started home casting 7 years ago.
    I still have much to learn, but the whole converstation about Bob and bifilms that has gone on here has been very positive because it is making people think critically and objectively about how they do basins, sprues, runners, gates, and risers, and I think some here have already discovered quite a few things they were unaware of (I certainly have).

Thes guys here do some impressive work across a wide range of casting/metal types, and they are a good sounding board for ideas too.
    The gray iron work going on here seems to have taken on a life of its own, and I am super thrilled about that.

Grab a crucible and a pouring shank and jump into the middle of all this.

3. CLR

CLR Copper

Thank you PatJ.