Home-brew Aluminum Alloys?

Discussion in 'Castings, finishing/ repair/ and patina's' started by JKnight, Jun 3, 2022.

1. JKnight

JKnight Lead

Good evening. New to the forum. I’m relatively new to casting, but I come from a machining and fabrication background.

More to the point… After a good deal of research, I can’t seem to find much info on backyard aluminum alloys. I’m hoping someone could give some insight and share their experiences with alloying their cast aluminum projects. Reasonably available materials like zinc, lead, magnesium, manganese etc. I have even kicked around the idea of trying out melting down some old chroma plated diecast faucet parts.

Any info is much appreciated. Thanks.

2. HT1

HT1 Gold Banner Member

dont do it! you are just opening yourself up to unnecessary failures, the most important alloying element for aluminum is silicon, and it has been discussed recently and often, it is difficult to get silicon into solution in aluminum because of it's much higher melting point 1,410°C for silicon , same holds true for copper in aluminum, they will not just dissolve into solution when the aluminum is at it's pouring temp 750 C,

go hunt down some actual cast aluminum and start casting, dont set yourself up for frustration with mystery metal

V/r HT1

P.S. the diecast plumbing parts are probably not aluminum at all but rather Zamak (zinc)

Tobho Mott, Petee716 and JKnight like this.
  3. JKnight

JKnight Lead

Thanks for the input. Zamak is a useful and reasonably strong material, is it not? I figure as long as I keep like material together, can’t be anything too catastrophic. I’ve got plenty of cast, but I’ve got a lot of other stuff that seems to be worth tinkering around with.

4. rocco

rocco Silver

I can't speak to the solubility of silicon but copper does readily dissolve into molten aluminum, I found that out by accident in a failed attempt to embed a copper cooling coil into a cast aluminum heatsink.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2022