How to cast the item in the pictures

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Greg, Aug 20, 2018.

1. Greg

Greg Copper

FF432AED-AB53-4ACA-805F-D192F114530B.jpeg AFEDEED9-D3DC-4079-891C-E5C28F289C09.jpeg 4129B3EB-4DE4-40A4-9F6E-9BAF3FF6E9A3.jpeg 8BA45000-51B6-400E-9620-B7C04C95526B.jpeg Could you tell me how to go about casting this item in green sand using alliminum.
    I have no experience with casting.
    Please be patient.
    Greg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2018
  2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

Welcome.

There are several methods, and folks here have their preferences, ie: lost wax, lost foam, green sand mold, bound sand mold, etc.

I can speak to my preferences only, which are either a green sand or sodium silicate (SS) bound sand mold.

If you don't mind the new cast part being slightly smaller, you can use that part as a pattern.

Assuming a green sand approach (green sand = sand mixed with clay and a little water), you buy or make some green sand, make two boxes (cope and drag) typically from wood, wax the pattern (floor wax will do it), press the sand around the part in one of the wood boxes, turn the box over and clean the sand from around 1/2 the part, then fill the second box with sand.

A video is worth a thousand words so I will post one (or two) below.

I have been trying to get a buddy of mine into casting for a while, and its like I told him, first you build a foundry, then you........
    And he said "Yes, but I can also teach a snake to tap dance, once I get the shoes on him".

3. PatJ

PatJ Silver

I have used this method, but with sodium silicate bound sand instead of green sand.
    These are not my videos.

4. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome to the forum. Some questions for you:
    1. What is the part and what does it do?
    2. How many of them do you want to make?
    3. Does it need to be an exact replica (PatJ's question)
    4. Do you presently have a furnace or any foundry equipment?
    Best,