Induction isn't just nice for ferrous

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by 3DTOPO, Mar 29, 2021.

1. 3DTOPO

3DTOPO Copper

With a graphite crucible, induction melts non-ferrous metals like butter. This was my first little 15kW induction generator:

That video is not sped up at all. From a cold start, that little machine could melt 8kg of copper and poured within 25 minutes.

Total cost in electricity was 30.4ยข

In my propane furnace, would probably take about an hour and cost like $10-$15?

That induction generator cost me $1200 delivered and the furnace is nothing more than a copper coil with a tad of ceramic blanket.

I've been casting since 1988 and induction really is the magical melting machine. Much amaze.

Patrick-C, FishbonzWV, Al2O3 and 3 others like this.
  2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Very interesting. I saw your intro thread mentioned your new rig as 36kw. What was the jump in purchase $ to 36kw?

3DTOPO, there's a lot of information and misinformation out there about induction melting at the hobby and small scale level and about the import hardware. As someone who is using them I was wondering if you could comment, maybe expanding upon your remarks here:

http://forums.thehomefoundry.org/in...-36kw-induction-tilt-furnace.1631/#post-37013
    1. What is the frequency range and what sensitivity does it have to the metal and crucible size with non-ferrous metals.
    2. Is the machine sensitive to the charge size?
    3. What input power is required? Power level aside, some of the import machines advertise some pretty strange and impractical input voltage/current combinations.
    4. Any guidance/restrictions on adapting custom induction coils?
    5. Any hazards regarding proximity to field?
    Inquiring minds and casters want to know!

Best,
    Kelly

BattyZ and Patrick-C like this.
  3. 3DTOPO

3DTOPO Copper

Thanks!