Long time listener, first time caller

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by The Desert Yeti, Sep 4, 2020.

1. Hello All,
    Happy to join the forum. I have been spending more and more time on this so it was about time I join. On an off the the last few years I have revisited this forum for ideas.
    A little about myself:

I am an MSE student (Material Science and Engineering) and I find myself learning more from what I am doing outside of class than what I am doing in it; and I definately spend more time doing stuff like this than class!

In 2016 I made my first kiln based of an assortment of videos but primarily from the Art of Weapons but I found that being limited to 120v it struggled to have good power and I also learned that I am interested in doing much in the way of electrical work.

2019 I found myself wanting to scratch the itch of melting and forging. I spent some good time researching and just went to my local scrap yard and found the absolute joy and opportuntities that are present there. I got some mild steel for a 235 lb post anvil and 65lbs of scrap steel for 70 bucks! I assembled the forge using an old charcoal grill, truck rotor, some black iron piping and a hair dryer from goodwill ( 50 bucks total). I got some of the forging wiggles out with it and got some minor aluminum melting done with it. At the end though I found myself wanting more heat, less oxidation and more focus on melting and casting. I sold the anvil, remaining scrap steel and the charcoal forge earlier this year with the intent that I would restart my efforts from nothing, and spend the time to create some better.