Miniature Tunnel Ram Intake

Discussion in 'Lost foam casting' started by Blue427, Dec 31, 2021.

1. Blue427

Blue427 Silver

Attempting to cast a 2" high, 5" long aluminum tunnel ram for a model engine I've been working on. This is a first time evolution for lost foam casting. Let's get started....

2. Blue427

Blue427 Silver

Tunnel Ram.jpg 20211221_181905.jpg
    The prototype was fabricated to get a feel for the proportion to the engine, and start learning how to use the hot wire cutter and fence. Also improving the techniques such as sanding and gluing. First intake is closest and took 12 hours. Next two took half that time. I have a high degree of confidence this won't yield acceptable results on the first pour, so I'm making several.

BattyZ likes this.
  3. Blue427

Blue427 Silver

In order to learn what gating to use, I made some simple shapes and cast some scraps of extruded aluminum conduit. I took deliberate short cuts such as no flux, minimal sanding, no pour cup and no dip coating. All pours used #100 sieved Florida sand left over from previous failed green sand experiments using ground kitty litter. I usually just spread it on plywood when I do sand casting as fire/spill protection so I sifted out the coke and wood particles. Used a Sawzall held to the cope to pack the dry sand. I even tried two parts in one flask to get a feel for what happens when the sand gets hot. Curious to see if it collapsed the second part's sprue. The intended use if these samples worked was a shop ashtray with lid, wood burning makers mark, and a separate tunnel ram plenum. We figured we would objectively criticize them in the third person. This was the primary reason that I joined the forum. Me and "Johnny" felt kind of foolish talking to ourselves. The best result had used a single white foam shape for the sprue. It was cast first in the same flask as the one to the right labeled "ran short". Here are the results...

Please reply with your ideas