Need some info on burnout furnace

Discussion in 'Lost wax casting' started by flask_copper_man, Jul 11, 2022.

1. Up until yesterday I was thinking that putting the lost wax mold in the burn out furnace was to meld the wax and let it drain out. I was reading on this one web site and it said that the wax was evaporated, not melted and drain out of the mold. Is thas true? I am trying to get around paying over $700 for a burn out furnace. When you put the mold in the burnout furnace do you put the hole where you pour the metal in the mold down or up?
    You can tell I am very new to casting.
    Thank you
    Renny

2. Mantrid

Mantrid Silver

The wax melts and flows out. Heating is continued and the temperature rises higher and the remaining wax burns in air to make mostly carbon dioxide and water vapour which are gasses and go up into the atmosphere. The shell or invetment should be free of soot if done properly. In the case of ceramic shell it turns a nice clean white colour.

3. mytwhyt

mytwhyt Silver

Since it's jewelry you want to cast this is what you would need. There are other ways, but this would be a cheap way to get started. The metal is melted in the crucible, and the machine spins and moves the metal into the flask. The burnout oven can be a small used electric oven, big enough to accept the largest flask you'll be using. You can buy everything new for a lot move money.
    You'll also need a couple tanks and regulators, one small oxygen tank. and one propane tank. A 5-gallon propane tank is what I use. Acetylene regulators work fine with a propane. A torch for melting the metal will be needed. There's more needed, but first a lot of reading on the process involved on jewelry casting and finishing.
    The tub you'll need can be bought at Home Depot. If metal spills when the machine spins, it pays for itself first time... Kerr casting machine for sale | eBay

Came here after posting in your printer thread.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2023
  4. mytwhyt