New from Delaware

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Cmtul, Jul 8, 2023.

1. Cmtul

Cmtul Lead

Hello all,

Just starting out. Picked up a gg3000 electric furnace that needs coil repairs and was given a gg5000 propane furnace. Figured I'd start small and go from there.

Best regards

2. PewterPete

PewterPete Copper

Yes sir. Start small, research and learn a little at a time. I'm a newb too.

3. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Any specs or links to manufacturers website?

Best,
    Kelly

4. Cmtul

Cmtul Lead

Forgive the late reply. The machine was discontinued shortly after I moved to Delaware. It just took me forever to learn about it. The machine is a Cast Master gg3000. The manual is here: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sou...UQFnoECA4QAQ&usg=AOvVaw07VwZqzC9bcQrYnYprH3ix
    The machine is a 110v 1500w system. From what I've read the coil constantly blowing was why the discontinued them and went straight propane. My guess is the coil was too weak for what the system pushed. So now I have to figure out what coil would be safe to use in its place.

Best regards

5. Al2O3

If I recall correctly,small electric furnaces like that have a wound coil for a heating element and there is usually an alumina sleeve with a spiral groove the houses the coil, then than sleeve slides into the furnace such that the coil is captive and a thin alumina cylinder wall between the coil and furnace ID, like a muffle furnace is that correct? Could you show us a picture?

Making a coil should be straight forward and inexpensive. For 1500w at 120vac (in USA, not 110vac), you need 12.5 Ohm resistance coil. IF you measure the groove it must fit in, the wire diameter, diameter and number of coils, and total length is easily calculated.