Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by lee, Aug 15, 2020.

1. lee

lee Lead

Hi all I'm new to this home foundry stuff but did work as a floor moulder in the 80s for a short time some 33 years ago at Goodridge castings in Aldridge in the uk.
    After watching some videos on youtube made my small foundry out of a gas bottle used vermiculite and sodium silicate which i found to be totally useless i could do with some advice on what refectory to use on ceramic insulation and what thickness to use the gas bottle is 300mm across would like to keep it down to 50mm all around and if possible the best place to get materials from thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Hi Lee, welcome to the home foundry!

Ceramic insulation as in ceramic fiber blanket?

You could cast a thin (less than 1" if possible) hot face using a dense castable refractory and wrap it in 2" of ceramic fiber insulation inside your existing steel shell, or else there are refractory mortars that work well as a painted on coating that can be layered up thinner, say 1/4". Lots of examples here to get ideas from. I've done both (I have build threads here) and the latter was far cheaper and easier to build. It is much faster at melting when starting from cold as well, so it is the one I use most often by far. Satanite is the brand name of the mortar I used, but I had to have it sent up from the US when I could not find an equivalent here in Canada that could match Satanite's 3200F rating that is also known to work well as a coating over ceramic fiber. I'm not sure what brands are available in the UK, but we have members here who are closer to home for you who can hopefully suggest products and point out suppliers etc.

Good luck!

Jeff

lee likes this.
  3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome Lee