Old Roto-Matic furnace questions.

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Brendon Hartley, Jan 26, 2020.

1. image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Hello, this is my first time posting, forgive me if this has been asked before but I’m unable to find any answers.

I have an old gas furnace made by the Roto-Matic Company Limited in Saskatoon Canada. It has a design I’m unfamiliar with (see images) the lid is solid without vent and down low in the furnace is a passage to the outside. This came out of a high school and was being used for introductory aluminum casting apparently.

is someone able to explain the design and use of a furnace like this? It seems there would be a great deal of heat directed right at the gas and blower controls.

cheers

2. PatJ

PatJ Silver

Do you have a photo of the lid?
    And a photo looking down into the furnace?

Need more photos from all sides too.

3. PatJ

PatJ Silver

My guesses:

1. The box on the side is the exhaust, which connects to a vertical exhaust pipe/chimney (not shown).
    2. Burner tubes go into the furnace low on the right side.
    3. Pipe with coupling (union) on it is input from a natural gas supply.
    4. Box with hinged cover is the flame sensor.
    5. Vertical pipe on left side, ?

Last edited: Jan 26, 2020
  4. OMM

OMM Silver

That looks like a very interesting design. It looks like the exhaust is coming off the side and going into an afterburner, Which then leads to a exhaust.

5. image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg