Sand Cast a silver cane handle?

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Melterskelter, Aug 13, 2023.

1. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member

I have a friend I have known for fourty years and who has done me a number of favors in the past. He has approached me about possibly casting him a “simple” ball-like cane handle perhaps 2 to 3 inches in diameter and probably including some sort of short stem. He has a number of silver bars he’d like to use as feedstock.

I have no knowledge of silver casting though I did a brief review and it appears that I could melt the metal in my electric kiln or in my fuel-fired furnace that I use for iron. I think borax is used as a covering flux during the melt. And it looks like petrobond could be used as well as sodium silicate-bound sand or green sand. He has been warned that sand casting will not produce the surface finish or detail expected in lost wax casting.

At this stage I am just kicking the idea around. I imagine some of you have some experience with sand casting silver. I’d appreciate your thoughts on the pitfalls to be avoided, results expected, or any other cautions, suggestions, etc that you might have.

Denis

2. I don't see why it can't be done, you going to cast it hollow to reduce weight?. It's be nice to alloy it with copper and some germanium to make a tarnish/firescale resistant sterling silver (Argentium) and increase the hardness over pure silver. Some really fine sand would help with surface finish and maybe some graphite brushed on the sand. I've done a basic silver jewellery course and the excellent thermal conductivity made silver soldering a pain as you needed to use different melting point solders as the work progressed to avoid detaching earlier soldered parts.