So you want to pour hot metal??

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by Jason, Sep 14, 2019.

1. Jason

Jason Gold

Drawing from a talented pool of metal casters here, I'd like to share some thoughts of my journey so far. Please crack a cold beer and write some nugget of gold here for future metal casters.

We have lots of new folks around here and happy to have you in the family. I'm no expert by any means, but have become a student of this casting stuff for almost the last 4 years. As the old saying goes, It ain't going to suck itself! With any skill, you aren't born with this ability to create things out of metal. This stuff takes time, hard work and lots of studying. While any bozo on youtube can melt down a bag of beer cans and pour a coin from a 6dollar ebay mold, it takes some serious skill to produce USABLE parts and pieces. I am always impressed by the skill demonstrated by most of you guys. From Kellys pipes for cars, Pat's cast iron parts, HT's bad ass brass beer mugs, Zap's penchant for squid and chickens, Davids talent for incredible detail with solid molds, Kurts flawless wax work......... The list could go on and on. (don't be butthurt if ya didnt get named):p