Starting out on copper alloys

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by The original Hellbilly, Apr 4, 2021.

1. Hi,
    Casting newbie here, I have tried asking uncle google for help but I must not have typed in the right keywords, so I came here. I have just started out in casting with a 10 kg devilforge, I am trying to cast copper and brass using a green sand mold, but I am getting very rough surface finishes. I initially tried lead, then worked up to aluminium and had reasonably good results with them, the aluminium was a little porous but still had good detail, but the copper alloys are really rough looking.
    Is green sand a valid casting medium for copper alloys or do I need petrobond? Would baking my molds help? Something else I am completely missing? 20210405_173301.jpg aluminium, ok but with some pores
    A 20210405_173011.jpg copper, really rough, no detail 20210405_173016.jpg 20210405_173034.jpg poured this one too cold, but still the rough finish 20210405_173040.jpg 20210405_173116.jpg we have figured out that this gating system won't do, but still, the rough finish. 20210405_173125.jpg

I am pretty sure we made a series of standard rookie mistakes here.

2. Green sand is fine for anything you can melt in your furnace: aluminium, copper alloys, iron etc.. Pure copper tends to absorb oxygen and become too thick to pour well, so any bronze with some alloying element like silicon, tin, phosphorous will cast better than pure copper. Aluminium if you cook it too long, will absorb hydrogen from the combusted fuel's water vapor and cause porosity bubbles on cooling. Those copper and brass samples all look like they could have been hotter when pouring, this is a real pain with smaller crucibles that can cool too fast before pouring.