Dagger Pattern on a Lathe

Discussion in 'Pattern making' started by Skratch, Apr 9, 2022.

1. Skratch

Skratch Silver

My current interest is trying to replicate cast bronze age daggers and tools. In researching old original specimens I found most daggers had cylindrical handles so I got the idea why not turn the basic pattern on my lathe. This is a start on trying. I made a wood cylinder and then picked out a style to try. Still a bit of turning and sanding to do. It's a metal lathe but using the feed and travel free hand I came up with this so far. The blade portion will be worked by slicing both sides off then finished with a 1" vertical band sander and hand tools. Just an experiment.

IMG_20220409_223744 (2).jpg

Melterskelter gave me some advice on pouring a lateral mold, elevate the end opposite the sprue a bit.
    Worked great, best pour yet, here's the result. This one is bronze.
    Thanks Denis !

IMG_20220409_232246 (2).jpg

I'm still learning ,,,,,

Last edited: Apr 9, 2022
  2. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

My South Bend 9 gets the wood treatment once in awhile too. It gives me the motivation to give it a good thorough cleaning and oiling cause I get more dust than chips.