A melting furnace for a newcomer

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by DoWerna, Jun 12, 2022.

1. DoWerna

DoWerna Lead

Hi

I am Werner from South Tyrol Italy.

Would like to build me a melting furnace.

I am a complete novice, but I have a friend who casts at home, complete 2 stroke cylinders.

He has already given me many tips for my first mold.

Would now like to build myself a furnace.

I'm not sure if I should start with just a small propane furnace for aluminum, or design the furnace to handle cast iron as well.

For an aluminum casting of about 2-2.5kg without basin sprue or riser, how big does the crucible need to be.

How would a possible simple melting furnace look like if it only has to reach the temperature for aluminum.
    200lt and 60lt metal drums would be available....

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Tops likes this.
  2. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member

Ciao / Gruetzi Werner!

I have just started casting Alu with a 6kg kit from Amazon which is really more like 1.5kg Alu once you figure the bronze to aluminum conversion and moving a smaller crucible to be in a better place from the burner. Also being so close to capacity makes it had to pull the crucible out with the supplied tongs and I have longer pieces of good scrap that stick up.

Sometimes my casting the gating is as much as the part in weight.

So maybe I need a bigger furnace too...I am not an expert but maybe if we have some more numbers people can read and comment.

From Alibaba:
    innopack-steel drum
    oil paint bucket/dyestuff bucket
    60 liter steel drum
    415*395*480mm [ 16.25 x 15.5 x 18.875 inches]

75mm [3"] top, 75mm [3"] bottom, 50mm [2"] each side insulation,
    leaves 295mm [10.5"] diameter and 330mm [13"] interior.