Propane burner for a monster of a furnace

Discussion in 'Burners and their construction' started by Cooper Campbell, May 26, 2020.

1. Hi all, I was recently gifted a furnace that had been living in the backyard of a friends shop for the past 10 years, it’s a beast of a thing, the interior volume being 18”x 22” with what appears to be #100 crucible cemented into the interior volume (the furnace is capable of axial tilt for pouring)

My issue is getting or building a burner capable of getting this thing up to temp. I have an interior volume of approx 2000 cubic inches to heat and was hoping to run this furnace off propane. I’ve been eyeballing the devils forge burners as well as the “hybrid burners” but the math ain’t adding up. My intention is to do pours of 100-120lbs of bronze and copper (I made the mistake of being a sculptor) I have some foundry experience from undergrad but it appears that I am at the limit of said experience.

Any and all ideas would be greatly appreciated

Attached Files:

2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Couple initial thoughts:
    • If it's been sitting for 10 years I'd recommend a gradual ramp in heat the first time you light it off or that crucible and refractory may suffer from the moisture absorbed over the course of those years. If that's a weed burner I see hanging on the hose coming from that 20lb propane tank, not to worry.
    • Any idea how many pounds of refractory it has? It's going to take some real energy to bring that to temp, even without a charge of bronze.
    • Just to confirm, A100 meaning 100lbs of aluminum correct? More like ~280lb of bronze capacity. If 100-120lbs is really your usual melt size, ok but if it's the max you'll ever do, and your average melt much smaller, your furnace is much larger than you need and will cause long melt times and high fuel costs.