Building Furnace

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by Skratch, Dec 11, 2021.

1. Skratch

Skratch Silver

I'm just getting started in casting, got supplies & parts on order. Planing on building an oven type furnace
    using fire bricks with an angle iron frame. Should I do anything other than just enclosing the bricks or do I
    need to coat the interior with something ? The cavity will be appx. 9" long by 5" wide by 5" tall.

Thanks for any suggestions,
    John ,,,,

2. Is this an electric or fuel fired furnace, like propane?.

Skratch likes this.
  3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Coating would depend on what kind of bricks your using. Are they insulating bricks (soft), or dense bricks? Your fuel source might matter too. From your dimensions it sounds more like a forge than a typical furnace.

Pete

Skratch likes this.
  4. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

And what size crucible were you planning on using???

Skratch likes this.
  5. Skratch

Skratch Silver

They are the solid high temp bricks,,,, fuel will be propane burner.

6. Skratch

Skratch Silver

Propane

7. Skratch

Skratch Silver

1 kg clay graffite
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 12, 2021
  8. Skratch

Skratch Silver

This what I have in mind, the bricks are same as I will be using ,,,

This burner, regulator is 30 psig, don't know the burner tip size.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 12, 2021
  9. One of the reasons for having a vertical cylinder shaped furnace (or octagonal) is that the hot flames can form a tornado like spiral around the crucible which evens out the heating and allows high rates of burn for melting of brasses, bronzes and maybe even iron. That propane forge in the video is ideal for achieving higher temps simply by reducing heat loss with the brick insulation.

Skratch likes this.
  10. Skratch

Skratch Silver

Thanks Mark for your reply. By just starting out I thought this might be the best way, I'm fairly