Foam Plug in a Pouring Basin

Discussion in 'Foundry tools and flasks' started by oldironfarmer, Mar 16, 2019.

1. I hope this warrants a separate thread. Lot's of methods to plug the sprue at the pouring basin until it is covered in liquid to minimize surface oxide and air being drawn down the sprue, by a single person (or a married one to, I guess) were discussed on the bifilm thread.

A foam plug seemed to be the cat's meow to me. Not only does it do the job and then gets out of the way, the products of combustion should be benign to any metal which is used in lost foam casting. That includes aluminum and cast iron. So the foam plug may give the additional advantage of allowing the metal front to push the foam vapors instead of pushing air. Perhaps there would be a bit less oxide generation just by having the foam in the system.

I cut a piece of foam to match the sprue then squeezed it like an earplug and stuck it in. It recovered enough to make a little seal. I'm still learning to use a spout so please excuse that. This is a little deeper pouring basin.

Do something, even if it's wrong:

2. OK, for my last trick of the day (I had a busy day) I made a third pour. This time I spent a little more time and squared up the pouring basin and put a more defined weir in it. Also with a foam plug. At this point I see no downside to the spout or foam plug.

IMG_5316.JPG

I also made an overflow at the back of the basin. The greater surface area provides a reservoir to slow the rise and fall of the liquid surface down.

Pour went very smoothly.

Here's the three castings I made today. Left to right. I was extending the runner length to establish a limit but none so far for the 0.05 sq in runner. Weights are labeled. Long runner is 7-3/4"with three 90* direction changes.

IMG_5322.JPG