Greetings from South-Central Texas

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Riley Alfred, Dec 31, 2023.

1. Riley Alfred

Riley Alfred Copper Banner Member

Hello everyone! My name is Riley and I am new to foundry work. My background is mostly in leatherwork as both an artist and functional crafter. I began leather crafting in my father's taxidermy shop at the age of about 5, and have since gone on to study under a saddler, a clothier, and a carver. I have long been interested in being able to cast some of my own hardware and decorative pieces (I enjoy doing costume pieces and historical reproductions) and so my interest in foundry work was born.

I have been educating myself on metallurgy and foundry work for a couple of years now, but only acquired my foundry equipment this past year. I was fortunate to be able to purchase my foundry setup from another local artist at a steal of a deal for barely used and well-cared for equipment. I have a 5kg Cast Master Elite furnace and a 10kg unbranded exact copy (minus the refractory cement coating) of a Devil Forge. With those furnaces I was also provided some of the basic supplies/accessories, but very little by way of PPE. I've been slowly buying or fabricating my PPE (bought a good pair of leather gloves, but I'm making my apron, for example). I am also fabricating my own lifting tongs and pouring shank as per the plans made by Bob from "The Art of Boat Building" (YouTube/Patreon). I have recently started preparing a permanent outdoor area for my foundry, current plan is for a 10x15-foot area with sand ground cover and fenced off to keep the ranch animals away. I'm also building a "table" for making my sand molds to keep my petrobond in, and that will store most of the rest of everything underneath the sand table. I also now have a 100-pound propane cylinder with an adjustable regulator and braided stainless steel hose.