Hello from Dallas (Obligatory first melt post!)

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Haus, Aug 10, 2021.

1. Haus

Haus Copper

Hello everybody!
    I'm from Dallas and recently got into this hobby because of a combination of my packrat habits, my overly paranoid security habits, and my companies Covid benefits package!

I'm a natural packrat. And a few months ago I was cleaning my workshop and came across a stack of hard drives from every PC I'd owned back to around 1995.

I'm a paranoid person because I work in IT security and know it's never safe to throw away an old hard drive, but needed some way I'd feel comfortable getting rid of them...

My work started a "FlexBenefits" thing to help people adjusting to working from home. We get a $250 stipend per quarter to spend on things which make our working from home more enjoyable. For most this was to get work out gear to replace going to the company gym. But they had a category for "home art/crafts" and "DIY tools and equipment".

Well, I had seen a couple neat videos on youtube (like Bigstacks, etc...) And one $250 stipend to Amazon for a starter furnace later and here I am!

Pics from the first melt, where I melted around 1/4 of the total hard drives just to get a feel for things and make sure I wasn't going to burn my world down. heh
    upload_2021-8-10_21-19-11.png
    My furnace up on cinder blocks with a concrete 18x18 plate on top...

upload_2021-8-10_21-20-1.png
    What was left of the hard drives after the first melt...

upload_2021-8-10_21-20-29.png
    Found this baking pan at a thrift store....

upload_2021-8-10_21-21-3.png
    First Pour right out of the pan..

upload_2021-8-10_21-21-18.png
    And a visit to my polishing wheel for X-mas paperweights in August!

_Jason and Melterskelter like this.
  2. Peedee

Peedee Silver

Welcome, good start.

Is that pan teflon coated? The fumes from burning teflon are retaher nasty!

3. Haus

Haus Copper