Hello from Tucson, Arizona

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Monkmartinez, Aug 13, 2021.

1. Monkmartinez

Monkmartinez Copper

Hello all!

I have zero experience casting but I play in the heat for a living. I am a firefighter in my city and have lots of ideas to cast once I learn. Self taught at most things and really enjoy the learning process. Recently complete a scratch built electric bicycle with salvaged batteries that tops out around 35mph. I 3D printed lots of parts for it and I can imagine these parts in aluminum. So, I would like to have a go casting them. Also, working on a QueenBee CNC machine (router). It’s about 80% done… just need a final push and to stop getting distracted.

I bought a brand new Cast Master GG-5000 SS from craigslist last week. Just couldn’t pass up the deal. I am concerned about a few things before I get started… so I am searching and reading a lot currently. Ie. Should I use rigidizer or satanite? The crucible is a tight fit inside the chamber on the plinth and off… wondering if that is going to be a problem. Things like that… basic stuff I suppose.

Anyway, thank you for reading and see you around!

2. rocco

rocco Silver

Welcome. There are lots of very knowledgeable people with wide ranging interests here that will be happy to help you out. I did a search on the Cast Master GG-5000 SS to familiarize myself with the furnace you have and yes, satanite or something similar to stabilize the kaowool is HIGHLY recommended also, the tongs that come with that kit are less than optimal, do a search on these forums to see more appropriate crucible tongs. Anyways, we love pictures here, post some of your melting set up and I'm sure others here will have useful comments as well.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2021
  3. Petee716

Petee716 Gold Banner Member

Welcome to the forum.

I just flew in and out of Tucson last month. It wasnt hot yet. Spent a week with family in Sierra Vista. Lots of things to see and do!