New old new old guy to this casting game...

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by 4cylndrfury, Dec 7, 2023.

1. 4cylndrfury

4cylndrfury Copper

Hey folks, its been a while. I remember a lot of the usernames from the old days on Alloy Avenue and even before. Its nice to be back.

For those who are new to casting, Im a hobbyist who just loves to tinker. I found casting by accident, after reading a thread on a car forum where someone asked for a custom part to be made and another user talked about their home setup. I was hooked.

I started like so many, made a few alloy muffins out of scrap aluminum with charcoal in a small steel bucket, an old soup can and a leaf blower. I moved onto hardcore scrounge mode and found that most cities have boiler supply houses. After finding one nearby who typically just threw remnants into the trash, I came up with a mostly full bag of some high durability castable dense refractory, some cracked soft firebrick, and a few other odds and ends. I had hit paydirt!

I dont have any pics on my phone right now (theyre all in the cloud lol), but I used some of that freebie goodness along with a hot water expansion tank that was on the side of the road and an old HVAC oil burner that was donated when my mother in law switched from oil to electric heat. Ive made knock-off K Bond oilsand using the RayVin recipe and playsand from Lowes, and it works wonderfully. I use crucibles made of refractory that have held up well. Ive cast some cool car parts, a few belt buckles, and various other sundry doodads