Newbie looking for advice... is this possible?

Discussion in 'Sand Casting' started by Nuclearfishin, Jul 23, 2021.

1. Hello, first time poster here. I've been a luthier for 20+ years and am looking for a way to manufacture my own custom made hardware. See the pic below, is this something that would be possible using a greensand mold? I'm only looking to make the chrome plated portion as I already have the screws and brass saddles. I'd like to use brass and copper to form. I'm curious what kind of tolerances I could expect with a mold like this. Any comments are greatly appreciated.

received_811542282879796.jpeg

2. Tobho Mott

Tobho Mott Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome to the home foundry.

First impression, IMO that looks awfully thin to be sand cast... But someone here will know how to make that part. Good luck!

Jeff

3. Thanks, for reference that part should be around 2.5 mm thick.

4. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

I'm thinking it could be sand cast, but the mechanical properties would be no where near that of the stamped part pictured.
    Might be better off making a couple of dies and try using a shop press to stamp them out...

dtsh likes this.
  5. theroundbug

theroundbug Silver

Agreed that is pretty thin to be sand casted. If you don't mind adding thickness it would be doable. Might even get away with having that big slot in the pattern too.

6. BattyZ

BattyZ Silver Banner Member

If the corners do not have to be round like pictured, you could design it in CAD. Send a dxf file to someplace like sendcutsend. Bend up the flanges in a vice then weld and grind the corner walls.

7. Melterskelter

Melterskelter Gold Banner Member