Orange County California

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by Ron Gerlach, Dec 29, 2023.

1. Ron Gerlach

Ron Gerlach Copper

Hello from Socal. I'm a retired electronic engineer currently playing in my favorite fields of machining, 3-D printing and foundry work. I have done a little sand casting of aluminum and vacuum investment casting of bronze. The aluminum parts were mainly for tools and misc accessories. The small bronze and brass parts were reproductions of unavailable parts for 110+ year old stationary engines (mostly from California).
    I have a medium sized propane furnace and several small electric furnaces but I want to build a medium sized electric furnace for bronze castings of 5lbs or less.
    I look forward to interacting with the members and hopefully benefiting from the collective wisdom of the group since I have so much to learn.
    Ron

2. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member

Hello Ron, welcome to the forum. Sounds like you'll fit right in.

PS. If you have minute, we really like pictures... :)

3. Ron Gerlach

Ron Gerlach Copper

PXL_20231230_000705331.jpg PXL_20231213_191538471.jpg PXL_20231227_192427607.jpg PXL_20231226_233812405.jpg PXL_20231230_000705331.jpg PXL_20231213_191538471.jpg PXL_20231227_192427607.jpg

Attached Files:

Tobho Mott likes this.
  4. Ron Gerlach

Ron Gerlach Copper

Here are a couple of recent items. The address sign was a lost foam casting. The sand casting was a part for a hot wire foam cutter I am making. The pattern was designed in Onshape and printed with my Ender 3 Pro.
    I am still figuring out the photo posting process.

Tops likes this.
  5. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welocme Ron. I have/use several self made resistive electric furnaces. My smaller of the two can accomodate and A20 crucible and the larger an A60. Links in my signature below. There are several good build threads here.

Best,
    Kelly

6. Tops

Tops Silver Banner Member