Small electric furnace

Discussion in 'Furnaces and their construction' started by ddmckee54, May 27, 2022.

1. ddmckee54

ddmckee54 Silver

Normally I just lurk in the background around here. I've wanted to get into metal casting for years but just haven't invested the time or money. I want to get into building model steam engines when I retire in a couple of years, and I figure casting my own parts will save me a bundle. I've been making a half-hearted attempt at collecting bits and pieces for a gas/oil furnace for years, just haven't committed to it yet. Then this little jewel came along.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/165324710861?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2648

Yup, a busted LITTLE electric furnace, 3Kg max. (I think that translates to a little more than 1/2 pound of aluminum.) Normally these things cost around $275-$300, when I saw this one I couldn't resist and bought one. I've been designing and building industrial control systems for over 30 years so this guy not working didn't scare me.

I figured that this thing will consist of a heating element, probably a solid state relay, and a PID controller to be the brains of the outfit. One or more of those items was the problem.

It arrived yesterday, so I just HAD to tear into it last night. The first thing I noticed is that there's not a fuse or a circuit-breaker in this thing - that will be changed in the near future. All of the wiring appears to be of decent size and I believe that it's fiberglass covered for high temperature applications. That's a good thing, but they've got the cheap-a**ed Chinese clone of a Japanese PID controller living in the same space. Apparently it's not going to get hot? Oh well, that's what cooling fans were invented for.