Hello from Vermont

Discussion in 'New member introductions' started by SRHacksaw, Jun 2, 2022.

1. SRHacksaw

SRHacksaw Silver

Hello folks! I've been casting for a couple decades -- I started with Dave Gingery's books and built a Gingery lathe back in 2002. And many accessories for it as well back then.

Since then I built a new 9" x 12" lathe of my own design, and many other projects. I began casting iron nine years ago, and also did some lost foam aluminum and zinc alloy casting about 7 years ago. I still mainly sand cast with greensand, and lately mostly iron. But the latest advances in lost foam aluminum are really interesting, and this seems to be the right place to talk about that!

I'm interested in building engines -- mainly steam and hot air.

The Gingery lathe and patterns in 2002:

[​IMG]

Tobho Mott, Tops and Mark's castings like this.
  2. Al2O3

Al2O3 Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

Welcome SRHacksaw. Sounds like you're a practitioner with some great experience. You should fit right in here. Welcome.

Best,
    Kelly

3. SRHacksaw

SRHacksaw Silver

Kelly, I found this forum through one of your YouTube videos. Super impressed with the amazing castings you've done.

4. Al2O3

Thanks SR, lots of different casting displines practiced by members here. I'm sure you'll find the forum and members helpful. BTW, that looks like a nicely done Gingery. You'll have to show us you bigger lathe.

Best,
    Kelly

5. SRHacksaw

SRHacksaw Silver

Kelly thanks! I don't actually have a complete photo of my bigger lathe I guess because my shop space near the house is so tiny I can't back up enough from it to get a good side view! I have some partial views and lots of construction photos.