Help...I dont know why this doesnt work

Discussion in 'Burners and their construction' started by Mouse51180, Dec 8, 2020.

1. Mouse51180

Mouse51180 Copper

I have built my first foundry and burner and am not able to use it. My burner is not functioning properly and being an absolute newbie to this...I have no idea what might be wrong.

I followed the instructions and bought a paper copy of the build from Brian Oltrogge.
    His video can be viewed here:

The issue with burner can be viewed here:

Here is a review of the plans I followed:
    [​IMG]

Any help is appreciated.

2. DavidF

DavidF Administrator Staff Member Banner Member

What are you using for a regulator??

3. DavidF

Looks like a low pressure regulator off a bbq grill. No good...
    Wheres the red regulator from the first video?
    SmartSelect_20201208-150938_Chrome.jpg

4. Mouse51180

Mouse51180 Copper

Perhaps that is what my issue is then...
    I dont have the regulator from the first video...it was not mentioned in the instruction plans and the hose I have connected is what I found at home depot. I will look for a different regulator to swap it out with.
    Thanks for the info...hopefully that corrects my issue.

Will pick this up this afternoon and see if this helps...
    https://www.homedepot.com/p/Gas-One...ure-Propane-Regulator-and-Hose-2215/311522156

5. DavidF

No... get one for a turkey frier. 60 psi regulator.... or bypass the regulator and run straight bottle pressure ( just for test)

6. Mouse51180

Mouse51180 Copper

Bummer...guess I wont be going to Home Depot tonight then. Looks like the highest they have is a 30psi regulator...will get a 60 psi regulator off Amazon...

I might still go to Home Depot either way though... :D

7. DavidF

A 30 psi one might get you by depending on how much it can flow....
    Are you going to just use the propane for preheat

8. Mouse51180

Mouse51180 Copper