Ruby Casting (verneuli flame fusion)

Discussion in 'General foundry chat' started by Zapins, Apr 21, 2021.

1. Zapins

Zapins Gold

I have been reading about creating synthetic rubies/sapphires. It seems fairly straight forward to make the machine to cast/create the gems (especially with the patents in the link below). I haven't seen anyone else make a copy of the machine at the hobbyist level for some reason, only a bunch of jack asses on youtube making cloudy ruby with blow torches and arc welders.

What do you think? Have you seen anyone else make one of these machines before? Might be interesting to make? Is it illegal to make a copy if there is no profit involved - I think the patents may have expired?

https://www.freepatentsonline.com/3607111.html

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 21, 2021
  2. rocco

rocco Silver

First, a disclaimer, I'm not a lawyer, what follows is not legal advise merely my understanding of patent law.
    Short answer, no it's not illegal but do so at your own risk.
    Patent infringement in and of itself is not a crime and patent protection is only as strong as the patent holder's willingness to assert it. Patent law merely provides the patent holder civil legal recourse should the patent be violated. Patent infringement only rises to a criminal level if the patent holder is successful in convincing a court to issue a cease and desist order and the violator refuses to honour that order, in which case, the crime would be contempt of court not patent infringement. What all that means in practical terms, as long as your activities do not bite into a patent holder's bottom line, they will probably decide it's not worth their time and money to come after you, I underlined probably because there are counter examples.

3. Zapins

Zapins Gold

Makes sense.